- Tour Package
- Travel Info
- Festival (Tshechu)
- Contact Us
There is a rich history of how Trongsa got its name. When Lam Nagi Wangchuk, the great grandfather of Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyel came to Trongsa in 1541 and he lived in the village of Yueli, above the present Dzong. One night while meditating at Yueli, he observed a light burning on the ridge below. When he went down to the light, he saw the footprints of the horse of Palden Lhamo, Bhutan’s guardian deity. After visiting the site he took it as an auspicious sign, he built a tshamkhang (meditation cell) and meditated there. Later he attracted many disciples who built tshankhangs, to turn it into a place, which began to look like a new village. The people of Yueli named the place Trongsar.“Trong” meaning ‘village and “sar” meaning ‘new’, ‘a new village’.
The shops in the town are designed in typical fashion in line with the surrounding landscape and all the roads leading to the East, West and South diverge from the center of the town.
Trongsa Dzong is the biggest and the most impressive Dzong in Bhutan signifying the magnificent work of Buddhist architecture with its maze of courtyards, passageways and corridors.
In 1652, Chhogyal Minjur Tenpa, the third Desi (temporal ruler) had rebuilt the Dzong in its present form. Trongsa Dzong is the ancestral home of Bhutan’s royal family.
Ta Dzong ‘watchtower’ is built to guard the Trongsa Dzong against the inter-region and outside invaders. It now houses a state art museum. The tower of Trongsa was renovated and converted into a museum in 2008, showcasing rare artifacts and the history of the monarchs.
Kuenga Rabten Palace
Was constructed in 1928 as a winter residence of the second king, His Majesty Jigme Wangchuk.
The palace gives an intimate insight into life during the early days of Bhutan’s monarchy, and currently, the palace is under the care of the Department of Culture.